Ahoy There!

Well Hellooo!

So, introductions: Name o Kathryn. I'm a writer, when I can be. I love writing and towards the end of uni got shuffled sideways into teaching. It's a lie to think you can teach high school and have time for much else, at least at the start. Anyway after loosing a few years to that I went back to study and started my second career. Unfortunately this one is going well, money is seductively good, years have passed. The work is interesting and I have surrounded myself with an excellent team. They're really awesome. But, not my passion. Also, it involves a lot of very dry operational policy and procedure and general government document writing, to the extent that sometimes I wonder if I can write any other way now. Sometimes I'll get half way through reading a document before a particular turn of phrase alerts me that it was something that I (sometimes years before) wrote. Gee that's rewarding... -_-

So! Currently focusing on developing my writing of fantasy, sci-fi, a touch of horror and urban fantasy when I get bored with the others.

Tonight's task involves trying to work out the dimensions of a horse of such size that four people could sit comfortably on the forelock. And then how much would it need to eat and proportionately how far could it travel in a day? What would be the going rate offered by a bordering mud farm for carting it away it's leavings from around ye olde cbd? Maths!! And a touch of world-building :open_mouth:

I'm also trying to build an Australian-bush inspired fantasy setting. But, it's hard to romanticise, because the bush is so unpleasant. It works much better with a mad-max-everything-is-trying-to-kill-each-other setting than it does a fantasy.

Anyways, it's very late here. I'm looking forward to chatting with you all about writing and becoming friends! Qapla'!!!

Comments

• Welcome.
    Kathryn said:

Well Hellooo!