The Latest News From Fortune’s Fools!

In case you missed it, the entire Haruspex Trilogy is now available!

Trust A Few

“You’ve been gone a long time Jaz, and word is you’ve come back – changed.” 

After five years of brutal convict military service, Jaz just wants to rebuild his shattered life. But the past is hard to escape. The ‘City has always been a dangerous place to live: now it’s lethal. Not only are the crime lords exploiting its lawless streets, it is also the unwitting test bed for a sinister corporate technology. As Jaz tries to find an old friend who needs him, can a new ally help? Can he even be trusted?

‘Trust A Few’ won gold and bronze awards in two science fiction categories at the Virtual Fantasy Con Awards. It is the first book in ‘Haruspex’, a tense new, sci-fi trilogy from Fortune’s Fools.

Edge of Doom

Dear Durban, I know I’ve not been in touch as much as I should but I brought a man to the City called Zathery Ryle. He is paying me to help him kill you. Take care. Best wishes, Charis.

When Charis discovers her best friend has taken over a criminal syndicate and her boyfriend has been keeping dangerous secrets from her, things begin to spin apart. She learns the hard way that in the City your own fingers can easily get just as dirty as those you despise.

A Walking Shadow

“There is a man who knows the planet and the people, speaks the language – and has the reputation you need. He delivers. He’s never not delivered.”

One man stands between Kahina Sarava and her lifelong ambition. So she is hiring the best professional killer in the business to deal with him. It should be no contest.

Or go back to the beginning, to where it all started.


Transgressor is a collection of all three volumes in the first trilogy of the Fortune’s Fools saga, now gathered in one single ebook.

Temsevar is an insignificant Periphery world on the very fringes of galactic civilisation. Settled long before the rise of faster-than-light technologies and left isolated for hundreds of years, its population have degenerated into the barbarism of a medieval culture. This primitive world has nothing the wealthy planets of the Coalition could want, until it becomes unwitting host to one of their most dangerous enemies – Avilon Revid.

Coming soon:

Iconoclast Trilogy – Book One: Mistrust and Treason

In the criminal jungle that is his turf, Grim is the apex predator. When the Coalition Security Force wants someone really dangerous brought to justice, he is the one they put in to do the job. When Grim is after you, there is nowhere to run. Yet his reputation may be his downfall – for he is tasked to take on a hunt more lethal than any he has ever faced. This time failure is going to be more than a black mark on his resume – on this hunt, the predator may become prey.

Published by

E.M. Swift-Hook

In the words that Robert Heinlein put into the mouth of Lazarus Long: 'Writing is not necessarily something to be ashamed of, but do it in private and wash your hands afterwards.' Having tried a number of different careers, before settling in the North-East of England with family, three dogs, cats and a small flock of rescued chickens, I now spend a lot of time in private and have very clean hands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *